Senate 2008 Guru: Following the Races

Keeping a close eye on developments in the 2008 U.S. Senate races

Wednesday, August 08, 2007

Wednesday Quick Hits

  • Oklahoma: Reminder: At 4pm Eastern, 3pm Central, 2pm Mountain, 1pm Pacific, State Senator Andrew Rice will be liveblogging on Daily Kos to discuss his upcoming Senate campaign against Jim "In Denial" Inhofe. Beforehand, you can read CQPolitics' profile of State Senator Rice or kos' take on Rice.

  • South Dakota: Tim Johnson takes another major step in his recovery. Best wishes, Senator Johnson!

  • Alaska: It turns out that the land purchased by Lisa Murkowski in a sweetheart deal, and subsequently sheepishly returned, was right by a stretch of road for which Murkowski and Ted Stevens had secured millions of dollars in earmarks! How awfully convenient. Speaking of Stevens, he just returned to Alaska for the first time since his home was raided by law enforcement officials. Stevens refused to answer questions about the investigations but defended his earmarking. For added spotlight, Newsweek profiles Ted Stevens' dealings and the conditions under which they evolved.

  • South Carolina: The Greenville County Republican Party has adopted a committee resolution to officially censure Lindsey Graham, saying that Graham is "not doing a good job". Ouch! Looks like Graham's base is really unhappy with him. That won't help quell talk of challengers to Graham in a 2008 Senate primary. Also, Lindsey Graham admits to carelessness; he should also cop to tastelessness and offensiveness.

  • Oregon: Speaker Jeff Merkley rightfully slams Gordon Smith for Smith's "election night conversion" on Iraq and lack of leadership on health care.

  • Kentucky: DMKY obliterates Mitch McConnell's credibility on health care by fact-checking McConnell's intellectually dishonest op-ed on SCHIP into oblivion.

  • Colorado: "Backwards" Bob Schaffer is beginning to take heat for reaping the financial benefits of votes he's taking on the State Board of Education and not disclosing such relationships.

  • Idaho: Conservatives are getting cranky with Larry Craig for his defense of "King of Pork" Ted Stevens.


    Blogger The Sleep said...

    I am having trouble seeing around the corner in South Carolina. If Graham were defeated in a primary by some more extremist Republican, is there someone on our bench who could give us a shot at this seat?

    10:29 PM, August 08, 2007  
    Blogger Senate2008Guru said...

    Unfortunately, we don't have a deep bench in South Carolina. The potential candidate I think could be the strongest is 2006 Lt. Gov. nominee Robert Barber Jr.

    Check out my profile of him to see why.

    10:13 AM, August 09, 2007  

    Post a Comment

    << Home