Senate 2008 Guru: Following the Races

Keeping a close eye on developments in the 2008 U.S. Senate races

Monday, June 04, 2007

Monday Night Thoughts

  • Deepest condolences go out to the family and friends of Senator Craig Thomas. He passed away today at the age of 74 after a battle with leukemia.

  • Could we be seeing hypocrisy from the likes of John Sununu, Chuck Hagel, Gordon Smith, and Norm Coleman on Alberto Gonzales' fitness to serve as Attorney General?

  • Idaho: Democratic Senate candidate and former Congressman Larry LaRocco will have his third liveblog session tomorrow (Tuesday, June 5th) on Daily Kos at 2pm Eastern, 1pm Central, Noon Mountain, 11am Pacific.

  • Oregon: Senate candidate Steve Novick reaches a fundraising milestone.

  • Georgia: Dale Cardwell's website is up and running. Meanwhile, Tondee's Tavern offers a scathing first glance at Cardwell.

  • Illinois: Some guy named Andy Martin has entered the Republican Senate primary. So there's that.

  • Congressman William Jefferson was indicted on sixteen counts today. Here are the thoughts of Think Progress, CQPolitics, Crooks and Liars, and MyDD. The Guru's thoughts are this: he ought to resign. $90,000 in the freezer? You resign. Under indictment? Appearance of impropriety? The Democratic leadership ought to be proactive and demonstrate zero tolerance. This is an isolated incident of Democratic corruption. The Republicans, however, revel in a Culture of Corruption. There is a big difference. But, as long as these isolated incidents of Democratic corruption occur, they can muddy the issue of public corruption to appear bipartisan. Think that assessment is wrong? Name five high profile Democratic corruption cases from the last couple years. Then bring your questions about the Republican Culture of Corruption to the likes of Karl Rove, Alberto Gonzales, Tom DeLay, Jack Abramoff, Duke Cunningham, Steven Griles, Lurita Doan, Paul Wolfowitz, Scooter Libby, Bob Ney, Mark Foley, Ernie Fletcher, Bob Taft, Tom Noe, John Doolittle, Jerry Lewis, Rick Renzi, Don Sherwood, Ben Stevens, Jim Gibbons, Curt Weldon, Randall Tobias, and on and on and on.


    Post a Comment

    << Home